UPDATE for Our 2014-2015 International Summit Awards (ISA) Winners!

The WDCB chapter's competition manager is notified about all ISA award winners that the chapter submits to the international competition for all our Distinguished Technical Communication winners. The chapter isn’t notified about other ISA winners for entries submitted by our Excellence award winners at their expense. While I was attending the STC 2015 Summit in Columbus, Ohio last week, I found out that four other ISA winners are from our chapter competition's Excellence award winners.

Only chapter-level Distinguished and Excellence award winners are eligible to go on to the international-level competition. It is always worthwhile to submit Excellence award winners to ISA because in some cases, an Excellence award winner at the chapter level can become a Distinguished at the international level (and the other way round). This year is a good example of that. The Writec Carlo Gavazzi EM111 Installation and use instructions entry was awarded an Excellence in our competition and was awarded a Distinguished and Best of Show at the international competition!

This post updates the list of our WDCB competition's Distinguished and Excellence award winners that won awards in the ISA competition.

Chapter Competition Winners Who Won ISA Awards

We are proud to announce that several Distinguished and Excellence winners in our chapter's 2014-2015 Technical Communication Competition won awards at STC's International Summit Awards (ISA) this year.

Graphic for ISA Summit Awards Best of Show

Best of Show

The Best of Show (BOS) winner and all ISA Distinguished award winners will be on display at the STC Summit in the Expo Hall.

Carlo Gavazzi EM111 Installation and use instructions

Photo of Writec entry-folded
Photo of Writec entry-opened

Distinguished Technical Communication and Best of Show

Contributors: Vilma Zamboli, Irene Mazzi, Cristian Gallina, Mauro De Toffol, Roberto Bresciani.

Writec, Desenzano del Garda (BS), Italy.

This unique two-sided sheet is in six languages (Italian, Danish, English, French, German, and Spanish). It is designed to fold open so that only the language of interest is shown.

Winner International Summit Award

ISA Winners

American Botanical Paintings: Native Plants of the Mid Atlantic

Photo of dust jacket of ISA BOS winner

Distinguished Technical Communication

Contributors: Bonnie S. Driggers; Botanical Artists for Education & the Environment (BAEE); Karen Ringstrand; Countess Clarissa Bonde, BAEE Board Member; Nancy Christmus, Nativescapes Horticultural Consulting; Dr. Marc Epstein, California Dept. of Food and Agriculture; Cynthia Lockley; Lydia Inglett, Ltd Book Publishing; Jean Morra; Dr Douglas Tallamy, Prof. of Entomology and Wildlife Ecology, U of Delaware; Keith Tomlinson, Meadowlark Botanical Gardens; Kyle Wallick, Botanist at the USBG.

Botanical Artists for Education & the Environment (BAEE)
McLean VA.

Research for Sustainable Energy: Linking Genomic and Ecosystem Sciences; Workshop Report

Distinguished Technical Communication

Contributors: Kris Christen, Judy Wyrick, Biological and Environmental Research Information System at Oak Ridge National Laboratory; Holly Haun, Marissa Mills, Betty Mansfield, Sheryl Martin; Brett Hopwood; U.S. Department of Energy Office of Biological and Environmental Research.

Oak Ridge National Laboratory, Oak Ridge, TN.

The Future of Unmanned Vehicle Systems in Virginia

Distinguished Technical Communication

Contributors: Kara Baumann, Eileen Baumann, David Franusich.

Uncork-it, Inc., Blacksburg, VA

Category Management: Shopper Mind and Behavior


Contributors: Adam Crutchfield, Tammy Montero, Kathy Sawyer, Celeste Murray, Alison Burwinkel.

Bright Line Learning, Marietta, GA.

Plastics and Polymer Composites Technology Roadmap for Automotive Markets


Contributors: Ross Brindle; Lindsay Pack; Gina Oliver, American Chemistry Council; Sarah Lichtner; Barb Robertson, American Chemistry Council.

Nexight Group, Silver Spring, MD.

U.S. Department of Energy Bioenergy Research Centers


Contributors: Holly Haun, Judy Wyrick, Biological and Environmental Research Information System at Oak Ridge National Laboratory.

Oak Ridge National Laboratory, Oak Ridge, TN.

ECE Focus on Research 2014


Contributors: Eileen Baumann, Kara Baumann, Laura Purcell, Sara Gundersen, David Franusich

Uncork-it, Inc., Blacksburg, VA

Botanical Artists for Education & the Environment (BAEE) website


Contributors: Cynthia A Lockley; Bonnie S. Driggers; Botanical Artists for Education & the Environment (BAEE).

Botanical Artists for Education & the Environment (BAEE), McLean, VA.

CA VM: Backup for z/VM HiDRO Component – 2.8


Contributors: Jeffrey Rubinoff; Steven "J.R." Imler, Senior Software Engineer.

CA Technologies, Prague, Czech Republic & Herndon, VA.

U.S.-China Clean Energy Research Center: Recent Achievements


Contributors: Namrata Patodia Rastogi, Energetics; Julie Chappell, Energetics; Matt Antes, Energetics; Paget Donnelly, Energetics; Valerie Riedel, Energetics; Tommy Finamore, Energetics; Victoria Brun, Energetics; Robert Marlay, US DOE; Alexander McLean, US DOE

Energetics Incorporated, Columbia, MD

Beyond the Classroom: Tips and Tools for the Successful Westat Data Collector


Contributors: John Kalter, Gary Mosteller, Barbara Dingwall.

Westat, Rockville, MD.

Congratulations to all our chapter competition winners of ISA awards!

STC International Summit Awards (ISA) winners

2014-2015 International Technical Communication Summit Awards Competition Winners
Download the international ribbons to promote your award. Winners of the international level competition may use the STC international award ribbons in resumes or company publications, on websites, or on reproductions of the winning piece.

WDCB local competition winners

Competition Winners 2014-2015
Winners of our local competitions are entitled to display the appropriate STC WDCB Competition Award Ribbons. Download the ribbons to promote your award. Winners of our WDCB Chapter Technical Summit competition awards may freely duplicate our chapter award ribbons in resumes or company publications, and on websites or copies of the winning piece.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share with others

Fellow of the Society for Technical Communication. STC member since June 1979. Director at Large, Washington, DC - Baltimore chapter and webmaster. Past chapter president of the Washington, DC chapter (1998-1999 and 2000-2001).