Thank You To All Our Competition Judges and Committee Members!

On 9 January 2016, consensus judging for the Washington, DC – Baltimore Chapter's Technical Communication Competition was held at Arlington County Central Library in Arlington, VA; one judging team with some remote team members (for example, in California), participated in a teleconference consensus meeting. Eighteen technical communication professionals evaluated thirty-three entries and determined awards. Entries to our competition this year came from California, Colorado, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Jersey, New York, Rhode Island, Virginia, Tennessee, Texas, Czech Republic, Israel, Italy, and the UK. Thank you to all judges and committee members who participated in the judges training and consensus.

Judges reaching consensus at Arlington County Central Library.
Competition Consensus Judges at the Arlington County Central Library.


Carolyn Kelley Klinger, Judging Manager

Team Judges

List of competition judges
Richard Bogacz Sue Heim
Greta Boller Melissa Kulm
Bryant Davis Heidi Lawrence
Brian Dinterman Annette Reilly
Douglas Eyman Allen Rotz
Dawn Gaynor Jenn Staley
Randy Gentry Helen Sydavar
Charlotte Glenn Shannon Uplinger
Kate Goggin Rebecca Young
Photo of consensus food
Consensus Judging Day Food – Table 1

Photo of food at consensus
Consensus Judging Day Food – Table 2

Competition Committee Team

Cynthia Lockley, Competition Manager

Competition Committee Members

List of committee members and assignments
Cynthia Lockley Website and Publications Manager
Charlotte Glenn Entries Manager
Carolyn Kelley Klinger Judging Manager and Celebration Event Manager
Ann Ray Competition Committee Volunteer, at-large
Sean Stevenson Celebration Location Coordinator
Viqui Dill Social Media Publicity
Lori Meyer Social Media Publicity
Annette Reilly Recognitions and Competition Advisor

Everyone Is Invited to the Awards Celebration!

The next competition event is the Competition Awards Celebration and Networking Night on 7 April 2016. The celebration will be held at Guapo's Mexican Restaurant in Tenleytown, DC from 6:30 pm – 9:00 pm EDT.

All judges, committee members, authors, submitters, managers, co-workers, friends, partners, and others are invited to join us for an evening of delicious Tex-Mex food, viewing the winning entries, and meeting the winners. The keynote speaker will be Kit Brown-Hoekstra, STC Immediate Past President.

This is the only opportunity you have to see all the winning entries. It's a great way to see what's being done by your colleagues in the field! Get inspired. Pick up some tips you might want to use in your next deliverable. Chat with some of the authors and share stories about what it takes to produce a good product. Meet some judges. Find out what motivates them to donate their time evaluating the competition entries.

We hope to see you on 7 April!

Reserve your seat for the Awards Celebration at

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share with others