We are looking for chapter officer nominations for elections this fall

Nominate yourself or someone else. Send nominations to the Nominations Manager.

Job descriptions for President, Vice President, Secretary, Treasurer, and At-Large Director are at

You don’t need a vision statement—just a willingness to volunteer, support our profession, and learn leadership skills.

We want you. We need you. Join us!

Center for Plain Language 2013 ClearMark and WonderMark Awards

What are the ClearMark and WonderMark awards?

Since 2010, the Center for Plain Language gives

  • ClearMark awards to the best examples of plain language in several categories
  • WonderMark awards to the worst examples

Join us in celebrating the best- and lampooning the worst—examples of communication.

Deadline for submissions: January 31, 2013

Who may nominate an entry?

Any individual, team, company, or agency may nominate an entry for either the ClearMark award (best example) or the WonderMark award (worst example). You can be the author, the office or organization, or a reader or user.

What is eligible? (categories)

ClearMark Awards

Use the 2013 Entry Form for ClearMark Awards

WonderMark Awards

Use the 2013 Entry Form for WonderMark Awards

How to submit a nomination for a ClearMark award

Nominations for the 2013 ClearMark awards are open until January 31, 2013. Winners will be announced at the awards banquet on April 16 at the National Press Club.

To plan your nomination for a ClearMark award:

  • Prepare the information for the nomination entry form
  • Read the award rules
  • Read the judging criteria

There is a fee to cover processing and handling for each entry:

  • $75 for public sector and member entries,
  • $130 for all entries from non-members, or
  • $115 to become a Center member and submit your nomination.

How will the Center judge the entries?

A panel of plain language experts will judge the entries according to these criteria.

When is the ClearMark Award ceremony?

Plan to join us whether you have an entry in the competition or not.

Save the date!
April 16, 2013
National Press Club
Washington DC


Contact email hidden; JavaScript is required

Associate Fellow Nominations Due 5 October

From STC's News & Notes, July 2009 issue

The Associate Fellows Nominating Committee invites STC communities and members to recommend senior members for the rank of STC Associate Fellow. This honor recognizes members who have: (a) been responsible for important work in our field; (b) done notable, original work that has contributed to the advancement of technical communication; or (c) made significant contributions to the Society—or a combination of two or all three of these accomplishments. Associate Fellows must, at a minimum, have been members of STC for 10 years and active in the field of technical communication for 15 years.

Any voting member of STC may submit a recommendation to the Society office. Communities and individuals should complete the Associate Fellow recommendation form and refer to the sample forms on the STC website at https://www.stc.org/honors-awards-and-recognition/.

Completed recommendations are due at the Society office no later than 5 October 2009. The STC Board of Directors will consider nominated candidates in January 2010. The Society will recognize those selected at an honors banquet in May at the 2010 STC Technical Communication Summit in Dallas, Texas.

For more information, refer to the Associate Fellows Nominating Committee web page at https://www.stc.org/honors-awards-and-recognition/ or contact Nancy Hoffman, chair of the committee. We look forward to receiving your recommendations!

For Administrative Councils who want to nominate a chapter member, your Membership manager can provide a list of chapter members who have been an STC member for 10 or more years.

To find out who is already an Associate Fellow or Fellow, see the lists at