Congratulations to New STC Fellow, David Dick!

From STC’s Notebook blog
by stc-office on 20 January 2010

STC Class of 2010 Fellows and Associate Fellows Announced

STC is pleased to announce that 24 distinguished members have been named Fellows and Associate Fellows of the Society. They will be recognized at the Honors Banquet at the 2010 STC Summit in Dallas this year.

New Fellows:
Phylise Banner
Michelle Corbin
David Dick
Pamela Ecker
Russell Friend
Barbara Giammona
Ann-Marie Grissino
Kristine Haugseth
Alan Houser
Russell Kahn
Karen Lane
Deanne Levander
Sylvia Miller
Jack Molisani
Neil Perlin
Kathryn Poe
Gloria Reece
Thomas Reed
W.C. Wiese

New Associate Fellows:
Mona M.A. Albano
Barrie Byron
Angela Dianetti
Taryn Light
Nad Rosenberg

STC awards Associate Fellow to Senior Members who have attained distinction in the field of technical communication.

The rank of STC Fellow is conferred upon Associate Fellows who have attained such eminence in the field of technical communication that the Board deems them worthy of being singled out as one of the select few who have distinguished the Society and the profession.

All are welcome to attend the Honors Banquet; please purchase your ticket when you register for the conference.

Congratulations to all the honorees!

Congratulations to New Associate Fellow, David Dayton

David Dayton, PhD
David Dayton, PhD

Washington, DC Chapter member David Dayton, PhD was honored by STC with the rank of Associate Fellow. David received his plaque at the Honors Reception and Banquet at Tech Summit 2009 in Atlanta, GA.

His citation reads:

For outstanding contributions to STC in conducting practical research focused on practitioners; in teaching and mentoring students and developing curricula; and in playing a key role in the groundwork for creating the technical communication knowledge portal.

David’s information is included in the chapter’s list of STC Exemplars, Fellows and Associate Fellows at Congratulations David!

David is also a member of the Metro Baltimore Chapter, Academic SIG, Information and Design Architecture SIG, Single Sourcing SIG, and the Usability and User Experience SIG.

STC WDC Wins Community of Distinction Award

Congratulations to our entire chapter for being such a vibrant community of professionals! For the first time ever, the STC Washington, DC chapter has won a Community of Distinction award, the most prestigious level in STC’s Community Achievement Award program!

Below is an excerpt from the notice we received from Rachel Houghton, Member STC Community Achievement Award Evaluation Committee (CAAEC).

.. the STC Washington, D.C. chapter has earned the Community of Distinction award for 2008-2009. The citation on your certificate will read:

For your collaboration with related organizations, your unique membership promotion, your use of social networking to increase community visibility, and your extremely accessible website transformation.STC Community Achievement Award Evaluation Committee

Your community will be recognized during the Leadership Day event on Sunday, May 3, at the Tech Comm Summit in Atlanta…

In addition, the STC Washington, DC community will be recognized at the Honors Banquet on Tuesday, May 5. At that event, all STC Washington, DC members will be welcomed on stage to receive congratulations from the STC president, Cindy Currie, and Immediate Past President, Mark Clifford.

The judges praised the high caliber of our volunteers, the way we used Cvent for a unique membership promotion this past January, our new accessible website design and the valuable resources on that website, the many ways we communicate with our members, the way we use LinkedIn to increase our visibility, and Cynthia Lockley’s redesign of several STC logos. Cynthia is also our webmaster and we have her to thank for our excellent website.

Though the judges didn’t specifically mention it, we all also know that our annual Technical Communication Competitions are consistently well run and result in internationally-recognized professional work. Thanks for taking the helm for the past two years, Lina Scorza!