Congratulations to the Chapter’s 2014-2015 Technical Communication Competition Award Winners

2014 Competition Winner badge

The STC Washington, DC – Baltimore (WDCB) Chapter is pleased to present the list of winners for our local Summit Technical Communication competition for which we had 27 entries this year. Entry titles, contributors, and the organizations they represent are shown on Entries to our competition this year came from Colorado, Georgia, Illinois, Maryland, Virginia, Tennessee, Czech Republic, Germany, and Italy.

Winners of our chapter competition are entitled to display the appropriate competition award badge to promote their award. Download the badges

Winners of the Distinguished Technical Communication Award and the Excellence Award are eligible to go on to the STC International Summit Awards (ISA) competition. As part of the Distinguished award, the chapter submitted the Distinguished winners to the STC international competition at no cost to the submitters. All winners of the Excellence award may submit their entries using the STC ISA Entry Submission form. Winners in the international competition will be notified before the Society's 62nd Annual Conference Technical Communication Summit to be held 21-24 June 2015, in Columbus, Ohio. There, all winning entries will be displayed, the international Best of Show awards will be presented, and all winners will be honored.

All net proceeds for the WDCB chapter-level competition go into the chapter's operating expenses and award funds.

Best of Show Winner

2014 Competition Best of Show badge

"Category Management: Shopper Mind and Behavior" is the STC Washington, DC – Baltimore (WDCB) Chapter 2014-2015 Technical Communication Summit Awards competition Best of Show Winner entered by Bright Line Learning, Marietta, GA. Contributors to this entry are the following:
Adam Crutchfield, Tammy Montero, Kathy Sawyer, and Celeste Murray.

Awards Celebration and Seminar

The winners will receive their awards at the Competition Awards Celebration and 60th Anniversary Kickoff on 5 March 2015.

All winning entries will be on display at the Awards Celebration. You do not need to be part of the competition to attend. You may find some interesting ideas to inspire your work by looking at the winning entries on display.

Please join us in congratulating all the winners of the 2014-2015 competitions.

Congratulations to Our Int’l Tech Pubs Competition Winners!

International BOS
International winner
International Winner

We are pleased to announce that all seven of our entries to the International Communication Technical Publications Competition won awards this year. One of them also won Best of Show! See 2008-2009 Competition Winners Lists for all our local competitions winners. Winners of the international competitions were on display at the Annual Conference (Technical Summit) in May. See past international winners at

Winners List

  • Technical Publications
    • Best of Show & Distinguished: "Putting Theory into Practice: A Best Practices Approach to Developing Tax Instructions"; Contributers: Dr. Rita Roosevelt, Rasika Krishna, Eric Spears, and Erin Schmieder; Company: Kleimann Communication Group, Inc.
    • Distinguished: "NCRR Reporter"; Contributers: Lamont Williams, Palladian Partners; Joyce McDonald, NCRR; and Michael Fleishman, Palladian Partners; Company: Palladian Partners, Inc.
    • Distinguished: "VisionContent: Retriever for Reports Documentation Set "; Contributer: John Tremblay; Company: Metavante Image Solutions
    • Excellence: "Altarum Annual Report 2007"; Contributers: Liz Ritter, Marijka Lischak, and Mary Joscelyn; Company: Altarum Institute
    • Excellence: "NCRR Strategic Plan 2009-2013"; Contributers: Lamont Williams, Karen Eddleman, and Joan Barbour; Company: Palladian Partners, Inc.
    • Excellence: "Roadmap to Secure Control Systems in the Water Sector"; Contributers: Jack Eisenhauer, Katie Jereza, and Julie Chappell; Comapny: Energetics Incorporated
    • Merit: "Pictures of the Future (Spring and Fall 2008 editions)"; Contributer: Arthur F. Pease; Company: Siemens AG