Renew your 2020 STC membership today!

Photo graphic for the STC 2020 membership season banner

STC strives to serve its members each year by identifying and promoting best practices in the field, providing tools to help you advance in your career, and by helping you build your network with like-minded professionals from around the globe.

Current members are invited to renew with STC for 2020 today. Below are the published rates and categories for 2020 membership (with no price increase for you from 2019).

Membership Category 2020 Rate
Professional & Academic $225
New Professional $180
Student $75
Retired $145
Gold $395

All STC memberships operate on a calendar year cycle and expire on 31 December. When renewing, please consider joining the Washington, DC – Baltimore (WDCB) chapter!

You may join any number of chapters and SIGs at the followinig rates:

  • $25 per chapter (emerging nations: $10)
  • $10 per SIG (emerging nations: $5)

For new memberships or memberships that have lapsed more than one year, there is a $15 enrollment fee.

Renew button

STC is Working to Bring More Value to Your Membership!

STC is excited to tell you that we have added the following new benefits for 2020 for increased value and a direct return on your professional investment:

In addition, all 2020 members will continue to receive the same great benefits and member-only savings on: digital access to STC's Technical Communication journal and Intercom magazine, CPTC certification, annual Technical Communication Summit & Expo registration, STC job bank postings, live webinars, and online courses.

Renew your membership today and continue to be a part of the largest community of TC professionals. See the complete list of Membership Levels and Benefits.

Questions? Contact email hidden; JavaScript is required or call 1-703-522-4114.

STC’s 2019 Membership Season is Open with Lower Rates!

Banner image for STC membership season.

STC's 2019 membership season opened on 1 September, and we are inviting you to renew early! In continued celebration of our 65th anniversary, renew now and enjoy special Professional & Academic, New Professional, and Student membership rates! This is a limited time offer, so don’t delay!

Chart of STC 2019 membership rates.
Renew button

In addition, some of the new benefits available to 2019 members include the new Health and Medicine Special Interest Group (SIG), a printable STC membership card, new Member Perks, asynchronous online courses, new Salary Database (coming soon!), new Sustaining Membership category, and more to come!

Plus, all members continue to receive the same great member-only savings on CPTC certification, annual Technical Communication Summit & Expo registration, job bank postings, webinars, and online courses. See the complete list of benefits and all membership types on the Membership Levels and Benefits.

Questions? Contact email hidden; JavaScript is required or call 1-703-522-4114.

Congratulations to new STC Fellow, Carolyn Kelley Klinger

Photo of Carolyn Kelley Klinger
Carolyn Kelley Klinger

Congratulations to chapter member, Carolyn Kelley Klinger, who is a new Fellow of STC.


For her boundless enthusiasm, her advocacy for STC as the voice of the profession, and her unwavering devotion to recruiting, training, and supporting STC volunteers.

Carolyn joined STC in 1995 and has been an active volunteer for the STC Washington, DC chapter since 1998. She is a two-time past president of the STC Washington, DC Chapter and has held all the chapter's Administrative Council roles and served on most of its committees. She is an enthusiastic booster of STC, speaking often to schools and professional groups about the benefits of the profession.

Carolyn has served the Society by acting as one of its representatives to the Bureau of Labor Statistics during STC's successful bid for inclusion of technical communication in the Occupational Outlook Handbook. Carolyn has also served on the STC Nominations Committee and the CAC.

We are extremely proud of Carolyn and all that she does for the chapter and the Society.

The rank of Fellow is the highest honor an STC member can receive and may only be awarded to Associate Fellows who have continued to excel in the field of technical communication. STC Fellows contribute to the profession and the Society at the highest level, as indicated by their publications, presentations, awards, mentoring, leadership, and community service. For more information about the rank of STC Fellow, see

Congratulations to Carolyn and to the other 2016 Associate Fellows and Fellows:

2016 Associate Fellows

  • Valerie M. Ball
  • Nicoletta A. Bleiel
  • Todd A. DeLuca
  • Timothy Esposito
  • Kim E. Lindsey
  • Robert E. Perry

2016 Fellows

  • Mollye Barrett
  • Pam Estes Brewer
  • Russel Keith Hirst
  • Rachel Houghton
  • Carolyn Kelley Klinger
  • Mike Murray
  • Makarand Pandit
  • Marta A. Rauch