Thank You to the Participants in the 2017-2018 Technical Communication Competition

Thank You to all the Judges

Thank you to the Judging Manager, Ann Ray, and to all the volunteer judges who reviewed and evaluated the entries to the 2017-2018 Technical Communication Competition.

  • Richard Bogacz
  • Jackie Damrau
  • Brian Dinterman
  • Sue Heim
  • Marsi Fein Miller
  • Nancy Mulé
  • Ann Ray
  • Tavia Record
  • Annette Reilly
  • Jennifer Staley
  • Marty Taylor
  • Lloyd Thompson-Taylor

The success of the competition depends on your dedication, time, and energy in judging the Washington, DC – Baltimore Chapter's Technical Communication Competition. We are honored to have your support and the competition can not be possible without you. Competition entrants frequently tell us that they appreciate the written feedback they receive from our judges. Your experienced and thoughtful feedback is the number one reason people enter the competition and is considered more important than the award itself.

List of Winners

We also want to thank all the technical communicators who submitted their work to the competition. An awards celebration was held in April to hand out the awards and honor the entrants, the judges, and the competition committee. (See the published event review.)

The full list of the winners with their entry names and awards is posted in the Competition Website at

Awards & Entry Statistics

Table contents

The first column shows the entry statistics, the second column shows the number of awards.

Entry Statistics Award Breakdown
Total entries: 23
Total award winners: 18
Distinguished: 4
(includes 1 Publications Best of Show)
Excellence: 4
Merit: 10

Distinguished Technical Communication

Russ Banham, Magda Saina, Erin Richardson, Geoff Brown, Margaret Brown
Johns Hopkins APL

Erin Richardson, Ken Moscati, Diane Dorsey, Gloria Crites, Shannon Nelson, Matt Baughman
Johns Hopkins APL

Natalia Melcer, Marissa Mills, Stacey McCray, Holly Haun, Brent Hopwood
Oak Ridge National Laboratory

Kris Christen, Stacey McCray, Brett Hopwood, Judy Wyrick, Holly Haun, Peter Thornton
Oak Ridge National Laboratory


Caleb Heidel, Annie Marcotte, Claudia Yee
Johns Hopkins APL

Lindsay Kishter, Akhlesh Kaushiva, Hank Kenchington, Annie Best, Jennifer Ganss
Nexight Group

Joan Travis, Melissa Kulm, Chalon Emmons, Dave Jacowitz

Sally Heldrich, Leah Reesman, Rebecca Tanguay


BICSI Worldwide Headquarters, BICSI Technical Information and Methods Committee, TI&M OSPDRM 6th Edition Review Team”

Lucinda Metzger
CA Technologies

Abbie Tioseco

Abbie Tioseco

Tracey Crowe, Phoebe Brown, Julie Chappell, Valerie Riedel, Chad Gallinat
Energetics Incorporated

Sarah Lichtner, Lindsay Pack, Jim Davis, Ross Brindle, Rob Foy, Jim Wetzel
Nexight Group

Jared Kosters, Lindsay Pack, Uday Vaidya, Jack Holmes, Ross Brindle
Nexight Group

Beth Ward, Lindsay Kishter, Jack Eisenhauer, Jim Carey, Jennifer Ganss, Ginger Norris, Mike Wallace
Nexight Group

Jason Grinblat, Veronica Schmiedeskamp, Ted Kuster

Liem Budzien, My-Linh Budzien
Thomas Jefferson High School

Thank you for participating and making the competition a success. We hope to see your entries in future competitions.

The 2018-2019 Competition

We are in the planning stages for the upcoming 2018-2019 Technical Communication Competition, which will open later this year. Watch for information about the deadline date and entry rules in the Competition website. Interested competition judges and competition sponsors should contact the competition manager, email hidden; JavaScript is required.

The Fourth Estate Award Call for Entries

emblem for the American Legion

The Fourth Estate Award is presented annually by The American Legion to a publication, broadcast organization, and online (Internet-based) media for outstanding achievement in the field of journalism. Winners are expected to attend the presentation of the award at the American Legion 100th National Convention which will be held August 24 – 30, 2018, in Minneapolis, Minnesota. A $2,000 stipend accompanies each award, to defray expenses of the recipients accepting the award at The American Legion National Convention in August. Individual award pylons are presented to the principal contributors, in addition to a large organizational award.


The deadline for entry is March 1, 2018.


There is no entry fee

Download entry form .pdf

Submit Fourth Estate Award entries to:

The American Legion
Media & Communications
Attn: John Raughter
700 N. Pennsylvania St.
Indianapolis, IN 46204

Entry Rules

Entries must have been published or broadcast during the calendar year immediately preceding the date the award is given.

Subject matter must deal with a topic or issue of national interest or concern; submissions must include documented evidence or a statement from the entrant describing how the work brought about change for the better or had a positive, measurable societal impact. Each entry must include a cover letter explaining the entry.

Originals must be submitted for all print entries. Audio CD for radio entries and DVD, digital format or website for television entries are required. Internet media products should include print pages of applicable sites as well as the URLs. Individuals, publications, and broadcast organizations may submit as many entries as they like, but each entry must be accompanied by its own cover letter on company letterhead with the signature of the submitting authority, the submission form and any supporting documentation.


All entries will be judged by members of The American Legion Media & Communications Commission. All entries become the property of The American Legion. Non-winning entries will be discarded unless specific return instructions have been provided.

Past Winners

The Fourth Estate Award has been given annually by The American Legion since 1958. All winners from 1958 through 2017 are listed at the bottom of The Fourth Estate Award page.